Alabama Newscenter — Alabama Gov. Kay Ivey Declares State of Emergency for Winter Storm

| February 15, 2021 @ 11:00 am

The complete article can be found at

By Alabama NewsCenter Staff

Gov. Kay Ivey on Sunday evening declared a state of emergency for 28 western, northwestern and central Alabama counties expected to be affected by a winter storm bringing freezing rain and ice that could cause treacherous road conditions and power outages.

Ivey issued the declaration “out of an abundance of caution,” Press Secretary Gina Maiola said in an email to media. “Issuing this state of emergency is a precautionary measure in the instance the state is severely impacted due to freezing weather,” she said.

Ivey’s state of emergency began at 5 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 14, for Bibb, Blount, Choctaw, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marengo, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Perry, Pickens, Shelby, Sumter, Tuscaloosa, Walker and Winston counties.

Click HERE to see the full article on the Alabama NewsCenter website.

Category: ALL POSTS, Partner News Stories

About the Author ()

Alabama News Center tels the stories of the people and businesses powering the states of Alabama, striving to make Alabama a wonderful place to live and work.

Comments are closed.